State of Origin Game 3 - NSW vs Queensland 2015

Watch Live State of Origin Game 3 - NSW vs Queensland
from Suncorp Stadium on Wednesday 8 July

The Rugby League State of Origin is an annual series of three interstate rugby league matches between the Maroons, representing the state of Queensland, and the Blues, representing the state of New South Wales. The State of Origin series is one of Australia's premier sporting events, attracting a huge television audience and usually selling out the stadiums in which the games are played. Origin games have a reputation as the toughest, hardest-fought rugby league matches played anywhere in the world.

Players are selected to play for the state in which they played their first senior football, hence the name 'state of origin'. Prior to 1980 players were selected for interstate matches on the basis of where they were playing their club football at the time. In both 1980 and 1981 there were two interstate matches under the old selection rules and one "State of Origin" match. A best-of-three match series has been played around the middle of the rugby league season ever since. Since the inception of the series, total victories for each side are extraordinarily even.